top of page

what participants have said about our courses recently

15 Jul 24'

Stephen reviewed: Two day introduction to portrait sculpture course at Chillington Hall

"An amazing course. Miranda is a great teacher, creating a relaxed atmosphere and letting you find your way with gentle, knowledgeable nudges in the right direction. Cannot recommend highly enough."

14 Jul 24'

Gill A reviewed: Green Man clay sculpture course

"Thanks Miranda for a lovely time. I was quite nervous to start with but you were so helpful & patient. I couldn’t have believed I would be able to produce something to be proud. I really relaxed into the day and won’t be so worried about doing another course soon."

13 Jun 24'

Cathryn Jacob reviewed: Green Man clay sculpture course at Middleton Hall

"Excellent course. No previous experience needed as we are guided through each step. My friend and I have now attended the mask making and green man making and would highly recommend both. "

12 Jun 24'

Lorna Taylor reviewed: Introduction to portrait sculpture at Middleton Hall

"What a fabulous 2 day course at Middleton Hall. I completed a portrait sculpture with the expert tuition from Miranda. I can’t wait to book onto another one. Excellent value for money. "

10 Jun 24'

Trudie reviewed: Green Man clay sculpture course at Middleton Hall

"Really enjoyed the green man clay mask making. Miranda was very encouraging and helpful. Lovely fun day!"

9 Jun 24

Sophie reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Middleton Hall

"Really enjoyed the course and pleased with what I made. Geraint was very patient. Beautiful location too"

9 Jun 24'

Josie flower reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Middleton Hall

"It was a wonderful 2 day course. Geraint was informative, patient and very good company. He was generous with sharing his skilled knowledge. A lovely experience 🌟"

22 May 24'

John Webb reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Snowshill Manor

"I spent a great weekend at Snowshill and Geraint was a patient and knowledgeable teacher. I came away from the course with a carving I was very pleased with and the enthusiasm to use the knowledge I gained in continuing with doing more carving"

 

21 May 24'

Graham and Sophie reviewed: Two day stone carving course at Snowshill Manor

"Everyone on the course finished their project to a very good standard which tells you how good the tuition was. Miranda had the skill of stepping in with tips when needed but not actually doing it for you. Sociable, enjoyable, productive and in a wonderful location too - what more could you want!"

20 May 24'

Laurence Scott reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Snowshill Manor

"Great course, really expert tuition, loads of tools, well paced instruction and achievable projects. Lovely location too. Thoroughly recommended."

20 May 24'

Fiona carmichael reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Snowshill Manor

"Fabulous course. Wonderful setting in the orchard. We were blessed with great weather and very patient tutor in Geraint. He never made you feel like a fool, even at the end of the day when concentration goes and your neck aches. The 4 of us were really pleased with our results despite being complete beginners. Thank you for a smashing experience."

 

19 May 24'

David reviewed: Two day stone carving course at Snowshill Manor

"An absolutely brilliant introduction to carving in stone, I’ve thoroughly enjoyed this weekend. Miranda’s expert tuition guides you through the process with constant support whenever you need it. Great facilities and an absolutely beautiful setting in the orchard at Snowshill Manor with fantastic Cotswold views. "

 

19 May 24'

Kathryn reviewed: Two day stone carving course at Snowshill Manor

"Excellent course in a lovely setting. Miranda is a very good teacher, knowledgeable, patient, serious about quality, and serious about helping everyone to achieve a good result. I'd thoroughly recommend this course."

 

19 May 24'

Chris Hoggett reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Snowshill Manor

"A great weekend, learnt lots in a beautiful setting"

18 May 24'

Two day wood carving course at Snowshill Manor

We wanted to say a very big thank you, Geraint, for the wonderful wood carving course that we took part in at Snowshill over the past weekend. 

The setting and the weather were glorious and, most importantly, we really appreciated your patience, expertise, creativity and encouragement throughout the course. 

You knew just what to say when we were feeling a bit daunted! And your advice & guidance helped us both to produce our first woodcarvings, of which we are very proud! It was a great experience, in great company and we hope to sign up for another course with you or Miranda next year. 

Many thanks again.

Kindest regards, 

Jane (the ammonite) & Achim (the Tudor rose) Robok

 

8 May 24'

Aline Shand reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Middleton Hall

"This was my third woodcarving weekend with this organiser and I most probably will do more. Those courses are so well organised and in beautiful settings. Gerraint is an excellent teacher, positive, encouraging and most importantly you go home with a huge sense of achievement and a carving you would never imagine you could achieve in 2 days. Working with wood is so therapeutic too. "

8 May 24'

Janey reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Middleton Hall

"What a wonderful two days I have just spent.... I knew nothing about woodcarving and the course with Geraint was exactly what I hoped it would be. The individual work places, the introduction to tools and how to use them, the right choice of subject - I did an ammonite (wanted to do the hares but Geraint wisely said too much too soon!!) Geraint came around with advice and skill just when I needed him every time!! The location at Middleton Hall and the weather were perfect too. Go for it if you are at all interested....!!!"

6 May 24'

Nigel Wood reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Middleton Hall

"Loved it. Excellent course, well planned and presented. Geraint was pleasant, friendly and full of advice and help throughout. Will book another course to keep learning. "

6 May 24'

Janice reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Middleton Hall

"Great way to spend a weekend, learn a new skill and take something home from it. Instruction was first class and friendly. Setting was beautiful and the weather was perfect. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting to learn something new. Thank you."

5 May 24'

Teresa St Claire-Barrass reviewed: Two day stone carving course at Middleton Hall

"Absolutely loved this course. Miranda explained the stone carving brilliantly & was always on hand to either demonstrate, assist and explain the process.It was a lovely weekend in a lovely setting, well organised with everything you needed to hand. We came away very proud of our Portland stone carvings."

1 May 24'

Manjit Cheema reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Chillington Hall

"I did the 2 day wood carving course and really enjoyed it. Geraint Lloyd was a very patient tutor as all of the participants were new to this but everyone left with a beautiful piece of wood carving. "

30 Apr 24'

Roger Seager reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Chillington Hall

"Very enjoyable wood carving course learnt a lot and Geraint was very encouraging "

30 Apr 24'

Brian Graha reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Chillington Hall

"We did the two day wood carving course which was simply brilliant - a really enjoyable experience with great instruction and friendly fellow learners. We came away with carvings that look great and of which we are proud, but more importantly we experienced a great couple of days - thanks !"

Christine T reviewed: Two day wood carving at Compton Verney October 2023

"Just wanted to say how much I enjoyed the wood carving course at Compton Verney last weekend. You were so encouraging, patient and informative with me (and us all) Looking back over my photographs from the Saturday I can’t believe that I managed to carve an ammonite."
Many thanks

Joe Cork reviewed: Two day stone carving course at Chillington Hall

"The 2 days were a great experience! The location, the tools and set up provided, the other craft participants and of course Miranda’s patient and friendly guidance to help even the most novice of people such as myself. Came away with something to be proud of. I would definitely do it again. "

September 2023

Helen marshall reviewed: Two day stone carving course at Snowshill Manor

"This was a fantastic course, really well run and so enjoyable. Miranda was a patient and informative teacher . The setting was lovely, carving in the orchard was a complete pleasure with beautiful views across the valley. Would recommend to anyone."

September 2023

Sandy reviewed: Two day stone carving course at Snowshill Manor

"Had a great two days in a lovely setting. I learnt a lot from Miranda and came away with a sculpture of a seahorse which I’m very pleased with. Choice of 4 projects. I found it less physically demanding than I thought it would be. Highly recommend this course, a fun weekend! "

 September 2023

Jane Davies reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Snowshill Manor

"What an absolutely super experience. Lovely venue & experienced, knowledgeable tutor. LOVE my hedgehog. ❤️"

September 2023

Jane reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Middleton Hall September 2023

"Excellent 2 day course. Geraint gave everyone individual attention and encouragement. Recommend."

Greg Barbosa reviewed: Green Man clay sculpture course at Middleton Hall September 2023

"My wife and I both had a fantastic day. Miranda was a great teacher and provided plenty of tips and advice whilst also letting each person express their own vision of their green man. I would thoroughly recommend the course"

Teresa Barrass reviewed: Green Man clay sculpture course at Middleton Hall September 2023

"Thoroughly enjoyed creating a ceramic green man. The course was really well organised with everything we needed supplied. Miranda was on hand to provide instructions and help when it was needed. Can thoroughly recommend. "

Kath reviewed: Introduction to portrait sculpture at Middleton Hall September 2023

"Just finished the 2day introduction to portrait sculpture course. Miranda was such a lovely patient tutor. I can’t believe how much we learned in just 12hrs, myself and my hubby were complete beginners having never used clay before. What we achieved was just short of miraculous. Thoroughly enjoyed the course and will definitely do more "

Alex and Becci reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Middleton Hall August 2023

"An excellent couple of days in a gorgeous setting, went from a complete novice to actually creating something artistic for the first time since being at school! Thanks so much for your time, guidance and patience"

Helen Oades reviewed: Two day stone carving course at Middleton Hall

"My partner and I attended, weather was good so it was all outdoors, lovely setting. We now have a great pair of Lizard book ends although my work colleagues thought it was a cactus 🙂. A really enjoyable two days, well instructed, excellent value. "

Grant reviewed: Green Man clay sculpture course August 2023

"A fun day with templates to help get proportions, some ideas on different designs if you wanted it, good clear instruction and if (like me) you occasionally requested help, then simple constructive advice. Everyone, came away really pleased with their results and had individual designs. Ultimately I'd say, if never done clay work before, wanting to re-introduce yourself or just wanting to come away with a great finished article to hang on a wall in just one day, this ticked all the boxes. Thanks Miranda"

Claire Bennett reviewed: Two day introduction to portrait sculpture course at Chillington Hall

"What a lovely way to spend a weekend. Miranda is a peerless teacher who seems to coax miracles. Sculpting my elfin version of Sinead Oconnor was a wonderful experience that was relaxing and engaging. I hope the work survives the kiln. Animal sculpture next."

Bev Benson reviewed: Two day introduction to portrait sculpture course at Chillington Hall

"This was a wonderful course. Miranda knows just what she is doing and passes on the techniques to ensure that everyone has some success. She works so hard! She was always there to offer guidance, but we also felt that we had the freedom to experiment for ourselves. We do feel that we know enough to have a go independently now. Thank you!"

Carol reviewed: Introduction to stone carving at Little Moreton Hall July 2023

"Loved this course. Clear instructions and equipment. Miranda was really approachable and encouraging. I would highly recommend "

Richard reviewed: Introduction to stone carving at Little Moreton Hall July 2023

"Great course, would recommend to anyone."

Vivien reviewed: Clay animal sculpture course at Middleton Hall July 2023

"This was a great course - well suited to beginners (which I am not - I have done a lot of work with clay) but also ideal as an introduction to sculpting in clay. Miranda the teacher was brilliant at judging exactly the right amount of support and advice to give out and was incredibly conscientious at getting around all the students to offer support continually. In spite of knowing a lot about working with clay already I learnt absolutely loads and would thoroughly recommend the course to anyone."

Jane reviewed: Introduction to portrait sculpture at Middleton Hall July 2023

"A superbly well planned and prepared workshop which enables everyone to feel pleased with what they managed to achieve in two days! Miranda was an excellent tutor, giving everyone the attention, support and challenge they needed. "

Louise Magee reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Chillington Hall July 2023

"I have just attended this course and had a really enjoyable experience. Geraint was a great tutor! Patient, encouraging and full of positive belief in our ability to complete the carving in the time we had. Would highly recommend to others including complete beginners! Venue was lovely and interesting! "

Lisa and Alan reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Middleton Hall

"Both my husband and I enjoyed the 2 days. It was great to spend time on a new activity. The tutor was lovely, very encouraging, helpful and kept going round the whole group to see if anyone wanted help. I was really thrilled with my wood carving at the end of the weekend, I didn’t expect it to turn out so well."

Charlotte Gringras reviewed: Portrait sculpture from photographs June 2023

"This was excellent"

Katharina reviewed: Two day stone carving course at Snowshill Manor May 2023

"Fantastic course, highly recommended! Started with a block of stone and left with a recognisable owl sculpture. Miranda was great at explaining what needed to be done step by step!"

24 May 23'

Sue Parry reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Snowshill Manor

"I really enjoyed the wood carving course at Snowshill Manor on 20-21 May. Geraint was a great tutor, explained everything carefully and came round all the time to show the technique and give advice. The setting in the orchard was beautiful looking into the hills and lovely cafe on site. It was a great mix of fun people. I would highly recommend this course to anyone. "

Dave Martin reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Snowshill Manor

"The wood carving, led by Geraint, was exactly the right mix of suggestions, encouragement, and showing techniques. The rate of work had to be focused in order to complete the project over the weekend. All in all, very well organised and a very satisfying weekend."

2 May 23'

Sue Skinner reviewed: Two day stone carving course at Middleton Hall

"I’ve just finished the two-day stone carving course at Middleton hall and utterly enjoyed it. Miranda who ran the course was a great teacher making the process really enjoyable explaining everything in such a clear way that made it possible for everyone to accomplish a finished sculpture in the set time. It exceeded what I ever thought I could achieve in stone; think I’ve now got the bug and I'm looking into buying my own tools and stone to have a go at home. Thank you very much for a memorable weekend, I’m sure I’ll be booking another course soon. Sue "

Nimmi reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Middleton Hall

"Fabulous weekend - doing something new and inspiring! Talented and encouraging tutor helped me make something beautiful to take home. Thank you for a rejuvenating and mindful weekend - wasn't expecting this as part of the benefits. "

29 Mar 23'

Steven Marwick reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Chillington Hall

"I attended the 2 day woodworking course this month after getting it as a present. I found it an excellent experience. As a complete novice the guidance and instruction provided was very good. The instructor was very patient and understanding and in the end I left with something I was very proud of. I would highly recommend."

Debbie Woodcock reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Chillington Hall

"I did the two day course, it was very informative and Geraint was absolutely brilliant, coming round to each of us to check that we were happy with our work, if there was a problem, he would correct it, if needed, or tell you how to do it, all the tools were there, as was the wood and a variety of stencils to choose from. I have never carved at all, but surprised myself at the end and produced a hedgehog curled up. I might do it again and choose a different piece. Thoroughly worth it."

26 Mar 23'

Annette reviewed: Two day stone carving course at Chillington Hall

"Fabulous instructor with lots of encouragement and support provided. Good range of items to make provided and will also cater for your own ideas. Great weekend - thank you"

Andrew reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Chillington Hall

"Attended the two day wood carving course with my sister. We both thoroughly enjoyed the course and found the instruction to be excellent. Though we were total beginners we came away with carvings that we are really pleased with. Would highly recommend this course to all."

Wood carving at Chillington Hall - October 2022

Brian Jardine reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Chillington Hall

"Great course in a lovely venue. I took part in the one day woodcarving course. Managed to create a piece of work that I am pleased with but I wished I had booked the 2-day course. Great workshop with excellent teacher. Can recommend to anyone who enjoys working with wood."

Wood carving at Middleton Hall - October 2022

Andrew Potts reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Middleton Hall

"Fantastic way to spend a weekend. Really professional tutoring and advice. Great sense of achievement to complete a carving that will last and be appreciated forever. Definitely recommended."

Stone carving at Middleton Hall - October 2022

Vikki reviewed: Two day stone carving course at Middleton Hall

"Middleton Hall is a lovely location to do this 2 day stone carving course and the weather enabled us to be outside for both days (8-9th Oct). Miranda the tutor is excellent and provides 121 guidance and encouragement. It was a great experience, you knew you’d spent 2 days carving and I was really pleased with my efforts. "

Clay sculpture course at Chillington Hall - September 2022

Gill B reviewed: Green Man clay sculpture course

"Thoroughly enjoyed the course. Miranda has a great eye for perspectives and gave some really helpful tips and guidance. I will definitely be considering future courses with her. "

Wood carving at Snowshill Manor - September 2022

Carolyn reviewed: Two day wood carving course at Snowshill Manor

"The nicest weekend I've had in a long time! I'd recommend it to anyone."

Stone  carving at Snowshill Manor - September 2022

Anne Springett reviewed: Two day stone carving course at Snowshill Manor

"Great location with excellent teacher who gave everyone individual assistance. Struggled a bit on first day but was happy enough with the end result. An enjoyable experience."

Stone carving at Snowshill Manor - September 2022

Catherine Wickens reviewed: Two day stone carving course at Snowshill Manor

"A friend and I had a lovely time on the stone carving course at Snowshill Manor. Expert tuition from Miranda , beautiful location in an Apple orchard and a happy outcome as I was delighted with my finished owl statue with its kind ,wise face ."

Portrait sculpture at Chillington Hall - August 2022

Helen Kirk reviewed: Two day introduction to portrait sculpture course at Chillington Hall

"This was a fantastic experience. Miranda guided us just the right amount to allow us to challenge ourselves as well as teaching us a variety of techniques and giving us access to individual support throughout. I have never done anything like this before and it has whetted my appetite to try it again in the future."

Stone carving at Chillington Hall - August 2022

Chris Little reviewed: Three-day stone carving course

"Miranda is a wonderful teacher who differentiates well to match her teaching to each students needs. I will probably book another of her courses. "

Stone carving at Chillington Hall - August 2022

Sharon reviewed: Two day stone carving course at Chillington Hall"

My second course with Miranda and it was brilliant. A great teacher, so patient and I was really pleased with my finished piece. Miranda also welcomed my 15 year old neice who had a fantastic time on her first sculpture course. Many thanks. Highly recommended!"

Stone  carving at Snowshill Manor - May 2022

Beryl reviewed: Two day stone carving course at Snowshill Manor

"A thoroughly enjoyable experience in a lovely setting, at Snowshill. Instruction was clear and supportive throughout. A really great way to spend a weekend learning and appreciating the art of stone carving. Thank you"

Stone  carving at Snowshill Manor - May 2022

Catharine Fleming reviewed: Two day stone carving course at Snowshill Manor

"Will never look at stone carvings in museums and cathedrals the same way again! Spent two lovely days with Miranda teaching in Snowshill Manor's orchard, learning the skills required to pull something interesting out of a block of limestone. Instruction was expert and focused, and it was fun to learn a new way to be creative."

Wood carving at Snowshill Manor - May 2022

Hi Geraint

 

just to say how much I enjoyed the course at the weekend. Everything about it was great and i love my fish!

 

best wishes

 

Rob Mackay

stone carving at Snowshill Manor - May 2022

Dear Miranda,

 

Thank you so much for a great stone carving course this weekend, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and were pleased as punch with what we made! 

 

Kind regards

 

Julie and Mike

Wood carving at Wightwick Manor May 2022

Thank you for a splendid and inspiring weekend and the company of nice people all starting a new hobby. Thanks for the  photos 

Ellen and Mike

Thank you for a wonderful, inspiring course. I enjoyed it so much.

Gillian

Thank you both!

Fab weekend.

Loved it.

Mike Fox

Thanks for this, really enjoyed the weekend, got home and have bought some Pfeil gouges and chisels and a couple of carving blanks.

Got me hooked.

Thanks again.

Matt

Wood carving course at Wightwick Manor

I found the two day Carving course an excellent introduction to a potential hobby. The tutors and pace were just what I needed

Sebastian Barnes

Stone carving at Wightwick Manor May 2022

Hi Miranda and Geraint,

Thank you so much for a lovely weekend and your guidance. I love my fox. Hopefully see you at another course. 

Kind regards

Dawn

Hi both,

 Many thanks for the photographs and the weekend. Special thanks to Miranda for your teachings and patience, I’d love to do more carving when I get the chance!

 Best wishes,

Elinw

Wood and Stone carving Little Moreton Hall, April 2022

Wood carving course at Little Moreton Hall

This was pitched at just the right level, assistance when needed but also able to get on without interruption in between. Venue was lovely too!

Alison

Introduction to stone carving at Little Moreton Hall

Excellent standard over 2 days- highly recommended

Anon

"I was actually on the wood carving course; we worked along side the stone carvers. It was a superb experience and well worth the tuition fee. We learnt such a lot and created some fantastic pieces. Thank you so much!"

Beth

"I’ve just come back from the woodworking course. It was a great experience and I was very happy with what I produced. The tutor was very knowledgeable and helpful and I look forward to attempting a few of my own pieces. The location was also great, thanks very much."

Paul

Wood and Stone carving at Middleton Hall April 2022

This was a really enjoyable way to spend a weekend. The tasks are well-judged to be doable in the time, but still somewhat challenging, so you have a sense of achievement at the end, and well-structured so that by the time you get to the trickier bits, you have developed some skill with the tools.

LIz Garnett

"Thoroughly enjoyed this 2 day course, it was set at a great pace which worked for both the novice and those with a little woodworking experience."

Su Hampton

"This course was a Christmas present for a friend who has always wanted to work with stone. He absolutely loved the 2 day course that was in a beautiful setting. Luckily the weather was good so he could work outside. He did say it was hard work but thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I benefitted from his hard work and was given the beautiful piece of art."

Lina

"A well run course with expert tutor. Miranda was really supportive and encouraging and wanted everyone to get the best out of their respective sculptures. The bonus was lovely weather and working outside in a lovely setting."

Carol

"Very good two day course; value for money. Learnt a great deal and feel confident to continue wood carving. Garaint, our instructor, was very helpful and provided excellent direction on the use of the different tools to create a carving. It is held in the open air so there's a need to be prepared for the weather; cold wind or sun. It would be helpful if a fact sheet could be provided for those wishing to take up carving. 10/10. Would recommend anyone give this a go."

Peter

Clay sculpture at Chillington Hall March 2022

"I had the best time and would love to continue on a regular basis so will be booking again. If you're never done clay modeling before you will be learning in a tranquil environment and Miranda is a calm and intuitive tutor. I found this course excellent for all levels due to the tutorial guidance. Thoroughly enjoyed!"

L.N.

"Went to the green man class. Everything is provided. Very clear instructions. Inspirational day. Loved the way we all achieved our own individual results. Very clear instructions and support. Felt in good hands. You may need an apron and warm clothing. Tea and coffee available but bring your own lunch. You will come away feeling a great sense of achievement."

Pauline

"Fab day, helped further by the weather so that we could be outside in the sunshine under gazebos. Miranda came round with helpful hints and I think we all produced something to be proud of. I had time to do another small sculpture as well. I do hope that they survive the firing process, I was so pleased with them!"

Sian

"Hi I attended the clay course yesterday and was so pleased with how the day went. It was a treat to be outside on a lovely sunny day and Miranda was an excellent tutor. She finds a good balance between being instructive but also giving you the freedom to go at your own pace and with your own style. She was very generous with the clay and her tools and for making suggestions as to how best to use the clay and which tools to use when for best effect. She was very relaxed and there was no pressure but she kept good time keeping in encouraging us onto the next stage bearing in mind there was a lot to do in the day. Perhaps on a longer course it would be good to learn about different techniques for creating animals and the different ways that clay can react to kiln firing."

Margaret

Wood carving at Chillington Hall March 2022

"This was an excellent two day course with a very experienced and patient tutor - I learned a lot and came away with a finished piece that came out pretty well! Definitely recommended! Bring a hat/sunscreen if the weather's good, working outside is lovely but even in March was a bit hot."

David

"I didn't have any experience of carving and received a place on this course as a gift. I really enjoyed the course, and the instructor was very good. My husband was very impressed by my carving of a Hare."

Julie Keyser

"As a total beginner I found Geraint was very patient, and gave very clear guidance about how to approach what we were doing, one step at a time. We had a choice of projects, but it was clear that he had selected ideas that would be achievable over the two days so we all came away with a finished item. It was very enjoyable."

Cathy B

"This was my first time of woodcarving after a little bit as a youngster. Geraint gave a very good introduction and had carefully selected projects that were doable. The tools available were phantastic and his support made it possible for me to get a project done much better than I thought I could. The venue was excellent with a really nice athmospheric room with a beautiful view and courtyard for lunch. Nice company too. Excellent value for money. I wish Geraint would offer regular workshops to move on with his support. The only negative side is that I probably will spend a fortune on new toys to play with. Throughly recommend this, even if you think you have no talent for this sort of thing. Give it a go."

Joerg Niehoegen

"Fantastic day. Geraint was very friendly, informative and encouraging! Great value for money! Skills and techniques learnt to now have a go myself! On the look out for some chisels etc! New hobby created !"

Lisa

"I am not at all arty or crafty so I both looked forward to and dreaded the course. Geraint is a fabulous teacher and is determined to get you to leave with your own completed work, having learnt about wood, tools, and carving techniques. The atmosphere in the room was superbe with a sense of hard work and accomplishment. A very enjoyable and memorable 2 days! Thank you."

Aline Shand

Stone carving at Chillington Hall February 2022

Hi Miranda (and Geraint )

Thank you so much for a wonderful course . 

We both loved it and are really pleased with what we produced in the time . 

Thank you for your advice , patience and for  making the experience relaxed and so enjoyable. 

We will definitely have a go at more stone carving and will let others know about the course. 

And thanks for the information on the tools - Peter has already ordered some ! 

Kim and Peter 

Wood carving at Middleton Hall October 2021

Liz Garnett 

This was a really enjoyable way to spend a weekend. The tasks are well-judged to be doable in the time, but still somewhat challenging, so you have a sense of achievement at the end, and well-structured so that by the time you get to the trickier bits, you have developed some skill with the tools.

Stone carving MIddleton Hall August 2021

john leahy-

Thank you for a most informative and enjoyable couple of days, I am delighted with the carving  ( small dragon from the book of Kells) as are all my friends who have seen it!

Stone carving course Chillington Hall April 2021

Susanne Mooney - 

 

Absolutely brilliant!!! Loved it all. Learning traditional skills and techniques, lovely tutor, and fabulous surroundings to work in. Support when you needed it but also freedom to experience the materials and work with the tools. Brilliant two day course ..!!

Wood carving course Chillington Hall April 2021

 

Bernard Wheeler - 

 

This was an excellent course held in a lovely setting with a superb teacher, Geraint. He described all the factors you need to know, checked on progress at the right times, gave help and advice when asked, and all with a warm and friendly manner. If you fancy giving this a go, no matter what your experience or expectations, I can highly recommend it. This was a gift to me by my lovely wife, and it ranks right up there!

Bev - 

 

Learnt new skills and conducted at a pace which gives you time and confidence to tackle the carving .
Tutor was excellent , location beautiful - very enjoyable weekend

 Justin Taylor - 

 

Not being the most arty or crafty person, I approached this course with some trepidation. I am so pleased with what I created.
The tutors were knowledgeable, kind and patient.
The venue was in keeping with the course and both peaceful and relaxing.
An excellent course, well worth the money.

Portrait course Chillington Hall 2021

James Stead -

An excellent workshop for any level of student. There are numerous tips to pick up, not just the tools and processes involved in sculpting. Having a tutor like Miranda helped to point out lots of insightful observations of the structure of the face and the small differences in form, which describe an individual face. I have come away knowing a lot more about the contours of the face and also the facial areas I have to work on in the future.
Miranda was very supportive and flexible in her approach to everyone. Her comments were always instructive and never critical, welcoming different working styles.
The sculpting room was comfortable and produced a lovely working and relaxed atmosphere between everyone.

Margaret P -

This course appealed to me as I wanted to learn how to sculpt a face so I can apply the techniques to cake making. I have learnt how to use clay (which I was a complete novice to), use of tools, how to look for lines to help build the model, the importance of muscles in getting the correct shapes and many more techniques. Miranda Wakeman is a brilliant tutor who instructs you through every stage and pointing out areas that need 'tweeking' so you come away with a life size facial sculpture. I thoroughly enjoyed my 3 days at this site.

Joan -

Miranda who teaches the class is a fantastic tutor with lots of patience!
The class is mixed ability and attended by regulars and new faces each time; the atmosphere is friendly and everyone is supportive and encouraging.

Peter- 

Miranda took an effective step by step approach for those of us with little or no experience. Likewise, those with far greater experience were given minimal but timely intervention if it was required and additional little tips to take things to a higher level.  I really enjoyed all three days and ended up with a special piece of artwork.

bottom of page